Author Topic: Eclipse 2024  (Read 721 times)

Offline LunarOrbit

• Administrator
  • Saturn
    • ApolloHoax.net
Eclipse 2024
« on: April 01, 2024, 02:18:15 PM »
Is anyone else as excited for the April 8 eclipse as I am? If the weather cooperates I'm going to try to livestream the view from my telescope on YouTube. I've never tried anything like that before, so if the weather doesn't doom it to fail, my inexperience will.  ;)

I have a Celestron NexStar 127SLT with a solar filter and a USB camera that replaces the eyepiece. I won't be viewing the eclipse through the telescope directly, even with the filter. I'm a total novice with the telescope, but this is too rare of an opportunity to miss.

I've also created a website that will provide links to as many YouTube livestreams as I can find in one place. Here's a sneak peek...

https://totaleclipse.live

Feel free to share any other livestreams that I'm missing. I'm sure there will be more and they just haven't been scheduled on YouTube yet.
It suddenly struck me that that tiny pea, pretty and blue, was the Earth.
I put up my thumb and shut one eye, and my thumb blotted out the planet Earth.
I didn't feel like a giant. I felt very, very small.
- Neil Armstrong (1930-2012)

Offline Ranb

• Mars
Re: Eclipse 2024
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2024, 02:37:53 PM »
I'm on my way to visit my daughter in TX.  Was planning on viewing the eclipse, but the forecast is for cloudy weather.  I will not be driving to search for clear skies that day.

Offline LunarOrbit

• Administrator
  • Saturn
    • ApolloHoax.net
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2024, 02:48:47 PM »
I'm on my way to visit my daughter in TX.  Was planning on viewing the eclipse, but the forecast is for cloudy weather.  I will not be driving to search for clear skies that day.

It looks like I'll probably be getting rain that day... but I'm hoping for a miracle. I would have expected clear skies in Texas, so I hope you get them too.

Offline Obviousman

• Jupiter