Author Topic: What about logic and politics?  (Read 10084 times)

Offline Dr.Acula

• Mars
What about logic and politics?
« on: October 13, 2014, 04:47:02 AM »
Hello, folks  ;D

Actually I'm on a debate with some HB's from Germany. I'm not an engineer or a scientist, so I decided to think about the logic of a moon hoax including the political dimension (domestically and with regard to foreign affairs).

My intention is, that the whole moon hoax doesn't make sense in logic and on the political level. Let me start with the political aspect and (especially to our US members) please correct me, if I'm wrong.

The Apollo program was invented by President Kennedy and it was continued after his assassination by President Johnson. In January 1969 Richard Nixon became President of the United States. Nixon is discribed as the political enemy of Kennedy, he lost the 1961's election. And Nixon is discribed as a personal enemy of the Kennedy clan. It's to add, that Nixon was unwilling to fund NASA at the existing level.

In January 1969 the Apollo program was "on the run". Apollo 8 was a success in 1968, Apollo 9 was launched in March and Apollo 10 in May 1969. Now I want to know from the HB's why Nixon should cover a hoax. It makes no sense.

In the case NASA started the hoax before Nixon entered the White House, it would have been a belated political success over his enemy Kennedy to uncover a hoax. In the case NASA wanted to fake the moonlandings, why should Nixon support it? Only Kennedy as the inventor of Apollo would gain (posthum) reputation. The only choice for Nixon was to let it go. If the mission succeeded, the USA would win the race to the Moon. If the mission ended in a catastrophe, Nixon could say "Every time I was sceptic about this program."

I hope, I'm able to make clear my point of view. And I hope I haven't made too many mistakes (especially in regard of the political circumstances at this time).